Photo

Bonds as a way to jump start leasing planes

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

ezkeilprincetyrus

ezkeilprincetyrus

AE Addict To-Be

• 21 posts
I just started playing Sat., Sept 16, 2012 (California Time), and I see players , who I understand could not have started more than 48 hours earlier, with airlines valued at over $50 million.

Obviously, I'm doing something terribly wrong.

So, I see I can issue up to 10 bonds, rated BB, at 14% interest. Let's say I issue only 5 bonds. The annual interest comes to $900,000.

I believe I can earn a return far higher than $900,000, thus justifying the interest cost.

My question is this: does the game allow companies to pre-pay bonds, with or without a penalty, or am I stuck paying that interest for the full life of the bond -- say 10 years?

This would cause me to reconsider such a strategy.

Thanks for any helpful input.

pseudoswede

pseudoswede

Play to win.

• 403 posts

User's Awards

5    3      
I wouldn't bother with anything but the $5M bonds. Then again, I don't bother with bonds at all.

You cannot pay bonds off early.

2ndAcr

2ndAcr

AE Know It All

• 246 posts

User's Awards

7    2      
Every bond you take lowers your credit score, the worse it gets the less planes you can lease.

Value is a measure of cash on hand, terminals owned, planes owned.

I have never taken more than 1 bond. The bond's are so low, that after about a year, a bond would not even dent my monthly payroll, much less a/c maint, gate leases etc. Best is to take a 5 mil bond on or about the 6th of the month and use it to lease several more planes. Once you get to around 500-1 mil a day profit, lease another plane type/family.......example, start with Vickers 810, next plane type is DC-7.........that way you are getting to planes at staggered intervals. But until you are at 20 mil plus a day, stay at around the 5 plane families max.

No pre-payment, you will pay it until the bond expires

Superman

Superman