Photo

New or used

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Burt Stormberger

Burt Stormberger

• 4 posts
Hi all,

I'm new to this game and was wondering if anyone could help me understand the advantages/disadvantages of buying/leasing new/used aircraft.

Used aircraft seem a much better deal on the surface of it as they are far cheaper but presumably there is some benefit in operating new aircraft over 10 year old ones.

Thanks.

Conor

Conor

Angry Irishman

• AE Moderator
  • 1,404 posts
Old aircraft are terribly expensive due to increased maintenance costs and increased fuel consumption. However if the aircraft is only a few years old go for it if it is on the used market. that way you get it straight away and a little cheaper.

Burt Stormberger

Burt Stormberger

• 4 posts
Thanks Conor,

So would a 10 year old 767-200 be more expensive to run than a brand new 767-200 or are you referring to older models compared with newer ones?

If so, is there any way of seeing how much more expensive?

Thanks.

Conor

Conor

Angry Irishman

• AE Moderator
  • 1,404 posts
Yes the 10 year old one would be considerably more expensive to run.

Click the aircraft ID, that should tell you its fuel flow and maintenance cost :)

Andi3579

Andi3579

• 2 posts

User's Awards

I understand the fuel flow, but could you please explain how I get an idea of the maintenance costs upfront before I purchase an aircraft?

Mr Tree

Mr Tree

AE Addict

• 886 posts
The older an aircraft is, the greater the maintenance cost. I suggest avoiding anything over 8 years old, but you should still be able to survive with older aircraft. I would recommend a lease of a newer aircraft. The payments won't kill you, and you will keep most of your cash. Watch the maintenance costs, and then buy from lessor.

pseudoswede

pseudoswede

Play to win.

• 403 posts

User's Awards

5    3