- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

spinkid000

spinkid000

AE Addict To-Be

• 15 posts

Hi All

I'm still somewhat new to this game and learning as I go along.  It took me a while to figure out how to make a profitable airline and not be a spamline, and I'm just enjoying playing, but anyway.   I teach upper elementary grade students and see some connections to some of the math we practice.   Especially matching the right aircraft to match the number of passengers.  Not all of my kids could handle this, but my more advanced ones certainly could.

I would love a way for them to play, but not have access to forums or messaging.  Also perhaps a way to enroll multiple players at once and create a sandbox just for my classroom, which I think I could already do.

I guess, for your business model, you could actually create a version that is aimed toward Intermediate and Middle School students.  

The math and geography skills embedded in the game as is, are amazing.  I currently teach 4th grade.  heck, i could probably even consult on it.  haha.  Or perhaps this already exists but I'm just posting off the top of my head.

jmfsam

jmfsam

to be or not to be

• 321 posts

I found that AE definitely helped with my microeconomics course this year, so I'd definitely like to see something happen in relation to primary and secondary school teaching, though this will unlikely happen due to lack of demand and that the developers have been developing AE4 (the new 'Airline Empires') for quite some time. 

The forums are safe, most curse words are censored and people act reasonably mature on the site, apart from a few squabbles between members. The chatroom recently was closed so people no longer have access to that, however I do not believe that you can disable messaging. 

I believe you can also enter as many airlines as you'd like in the Rdelta world, possibly the students creating the airline and giving you shared control? Just a thought. 

vZe8iFx.png