Photo

Air Traffic Controller job disscussion

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

Pilot1868

Pilot1868

AE Player

• 26 posts

I saw there was a post about Pilot Job disscussion but there wasn't anything related to other jobs in the aviation industry.

I want to become a ATC and so I would like to hear if anyone has any suggestions?

Here is a article that I found on how to become a ATC: http://www.wikihow.c...ffic-Controller

Guest_Eastwind CEO_*

Guest_Eastwind CEO_*
  • Guests

Don't fall asleep

TNT88

TNT88

Hates Pedo

• 3,458 posts

User's Awards

2    14       71      

And don't panic even if you saw plane blow up on the runway, basically you have to be robot to be able to work on the tower. Other than that, your not gonna get the job.

Chubby Bear

Chubby Bear

AE's Noob

• 1,213 posts

User's Awards

2    5      

Wow what an interesting choice. I'm currently studying 1st year at ATNS  ( air traffic and navigational services ) through Airports company South Africa. It is a very difficult course with lots of students leaving because of it. You have to be very focused and this has to be your ultimate goal because your going to have to work very hard to get there. We study long and weird hours but the reward so far has been great. We observed at O.R Tambo Johannesburg Airport Control Tower for a week to see what it was really like. Its Exciting!. From next year onwards I will be doing simulator training as well and also 3rd year you can train if you do well enough at the control tower itself as a trainee controller. Cant Wait! anyways if I were you I would make sure that my Math's skills and English skills are up there with the best of them, Especially math's, everything and anything in the Air traffic controller course is math's related somehow. Also you have to be calm, collected person who can work very well under extreme stress and will not be freaked out by emergencies ( Crashes ) ,  also you have to have no criminal record and have to b